DC Flight Restrictions Announced for State of the Union

 - January 27, 2014, 1:25 PM

A temporary flight restriction (TFR), outlined in FDC Notam 4/2985, will be in place on January 28 from 8 p.m. to 11 p.m. local for aircraft flying into or out of the Washington, D.C. area. The Notam, issued as part of security measures for U.S. President Barack Obama’s State of the Union address, defines the affected area as the boundaries of the current D.C. flight restricted Zone (FRZ) and will prohibit general aviation operations at Washington Reagan National Airport (DCA), Washington Executive/Hyde Field (W32), Potomac Airfield (VKX) and College Park Airport (CGS).

Aircraft operating as part of the DCA access standard security program will also be prohibited, as will arrivals and departures at JYO, MD47, MD77, MD43, MD14 and 51VA. Transitions through the D.C. Special Flight Rules Area (SFRA) and FRZ will not be allowed for either IFR or VFR aircraft.

General aviation arrivals and departures on IFR flight plans will be allowed at Washington Dulles Airport (IAD), Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and Manassas Regional Airport (HEF) during the TFR times.