Stage 4 Noise Standards Take Effect

AINalerts » January 5, 2006
January 11, 2007, 6:18 AM

All jet and transport-category airplanes (those with an mtow of 12,500 pounds or more) for which application of a new type design is submitted on or after January 1 this year have to meet new noise certification levels. Stage 4 is a cumulative 10 EPNdB (effective perceived noise level in decibels) less than Stage 3 limits. Virtually all in-production business jets will qualify to be recertified under Stage 4. Although the new rule doesn’t contain a Stage 4 retrofit requirement and the FAA said it has no plans to impose such a requirement, one of the International Civil Aviation Organization’s recommendations calls for a phaseout by 2020 of Stage 3 airplanes with an mtow of more than 75,000 pounds. Separately, effective February 3, new amendments to Part 36 require a 3-dBA (decibels to the A-weighted average) noise limit reduction for new type-certified small single-engine propeller aircraft–including turboprops–weighing more than 3,307 pounds.

Share this...

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.