FAA Recategorizes Wake Turbulence Separations

AINsafety » May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014, 12:45 PM

FAA Order 7110.659A, effective June 1, will recategorize the guidelines air traffic controllers use to provide proper wake turbulence separation. The new standards are expected to increase airport capacity while reducing both arrival and departure delays.

The FAA currently classifies aircraft for wake turbulence purposes based on maximum certified takeoff weight as heavy, large and small. Using these categories, current heavy-behind-heavy separation is four miles, which is appropriate for a Boeing 767 following a larger 747, but not necessary when the 747 is following the 767.

Under the new standards aircraft are classified by wingspan, the aircraft’s ability to withstand a wake encounter and takeoff weight, now resulting in six wake-turbulence categories. The new guidelines split the current heavy and large weight classes into four wake categories: two for heavy and two for large. The A388 (A380) and A225 (AN225) become their own wake categories while the weight class of small aircraft also remains as its own category.

Share this...


No Avatar
Robert Law
on May 27, 2014 - 9:56am

The FAA ORder number as used in this article is incorrect.  It should reflect FAA Order JO 7110.659A instead of FAA Order JO 6110.659A.  The "7" series denotes Air Traffic Control publications/procedures related material.

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.