Awards & Honors: April 2006

Aviation International News » April 2006
September 25, 2006, 5:21 AM

Joseph Hawkins, an assistant professor of aerospace at Middle Tennessee State University, was named National Aviation Maintenance Technician of the year for 2006. Hawkins has been an A&P technician since 1979 and has held FAA Inspection Authorization since 1991.

Dr. Peter Diamandis, chairman and CEO of the X Prize Foundation, and Will Steger, who made the first confirmed unsupported trip to the North Pole with a team of eight people and 50 sled dogs in 1986, will each receive an honorary 2006 Lindbergh Award next month at the Minnesota History Center.

Robert McIntyre, who made a significant contribution to each de Havilland Canada aircraft production program, will be posthumously inducted into Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame next month. McIntyre died in September 1985. His son, Jamie, is well known in business aviation circles through his Montreal-based aviation communications agency.

Jack Young, senior v-p of finance and administration for Dassault Falcon Jet and president of Dassault Aircraft Services, received the Hope Award from the Greater North Jersey Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society for outstanding community leadership.

Dale Dunn, president and CEO of Tucson, Ariz.-based DunnAir completion center, was recognized as one of 12 businessmen of the year by the Business Advisory Council and the National Republican Congressional Committee. He was recognized for his input to the Business Advisory Council and commitment to the Republican Party.

Share this...

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.