Western Australia GrantsRegional Airlines Monopoly Rights

Aviation International News » February 2006
September 26, 2006, 4:19 AM

The province of Western Australia has granted two airlines monopoly rights over air service to some 10 small communities surrounding Perth. The $45 million contract awards Skywest Airlines coastal routes as far north as Exmouth and southeast to Esperane, and gives Skippers Aviation the rights to inland destinations, namely the gold-mining towns of Meekatharra, Wiluna, Leinster, Laverton, Leonora and Mount Magnet. The airlines will share the popular route between Perth and Geraldton, where demand has grown to require 50 flights a week.

In return for monopoly rights, the deal requires each airline to serve designated regional centers that might otherwise prove unprofitable and prevents them from unilaterally increasing fares. The contract runs for a period of three years, at which time the airlines may exercise an option for a two-year extension. Based in Perth, Skippers will use Embraer Brasilias and de Havilland Dash 8-100s for the service, while Skywest flies 48-seat Fokker 50s.

Share this...

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.