Stage 4 To Take Effect Next Year

Aviation International News » August 2005
October 4, 2006, 5:30 AM

All jet and transport-category airplanes for which application of a new type design is submitted on or after January 1 next year will have to meet Stage 4 noise certification levels. Stage 4 is a cumulative 10 EPNdB (effective perceived noise level in decibels) less than the current Stage 3 limits. All business jets currently manufactured meet Stage 3, and nearly all would qualify to be recertified to meet Stage 4. An International Civil Aviation Organization committee is recommending a phase-out by 2020 of Stage 3 airplanes with an mtow of more than 75,000 pounds.

Share this...

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.