Awards & Honors: July 2005

 - October 10, 2006, 11:59 AM

The Tennessee Museum of Aviation and Aviation Hall of Fame selected its honorees for this year; the formal induction ceremony will take place in November. Among the honorees are Walter Beech, Robert McNab and James Wolfe. Born in Pulaski, Tenn., Beech founded Beech Aircraft in 1932; the company is now part of Raytheon.

The museum honored McNab and Wolfe for their contributions to the helicopter industry. The two co-founded Edwards and Associates in Piney Flatts, Tenn. Bell Helicopter acquired the company and its subsidiaries in 1999.

A recent ceremony at the Museum also commemorated the retirement of Evelyn Bryan Johnson, 95, from the post of designated pilot examiner. Johnson was appointed to the position in 1952, and she has held the designation for 53 years. The FAA credits Johnson with performing more than 9,000 pilot flight examinations. With 57,620 hours of flying time, Johnson has accumulated more flying time than any other woman in aviation history, an accomplishment noted in the Guinness Book of World Records.

The General Aviation Manufacturers Association has awarded Andrew Cousins, a high-school senior in Newberry, S.C., the 2005 Edward Stimpson “Aviation Excellence” award. Cousins plans to earn a bachelor of science in aeronautical science at Embry-Riddle.

The Houston Better Business Bureau honored Air Security International with an Award of Excellence. The award honored 46 businesses and nonprofit organizations for overall excellence and quality in the workplace.

Wanda McPhillips was named the 2004 credit executive of the year by the National Association of Credit Managers–Ohio. McPhillips, Executive Jet Management’s credit executive since 2003, was recognized for outstanding and meritorious service to the credit profession–a credit to the profession, in fact.