People in Aviation: October 2007

 - September 27, 2007, 6:11 AM

Eric Mandemaker has assumed the role of CEO of the European Business Aviation Association (EBAA), replacing Brian Humphries, who has been named EBAA president.

Stewart Lapayowker
has been appointed the first chairman of the new Aircraft Transactions Working Group of the NBAA Tax Committee. He is a member of the NBAA Tax Committee, previous vice chair of the Tax Committee’s Regulatory Working Group and a member of the Aviation Law Committee of the Florida Bar.

Justin Bryant
, former Management & Operations representative for the Southern Illinois Airport Authority, has joined the NATA government affairs staff.

The International Business Aviation Council has named Bob Blouin, former vice president of operations for NBAA, manager of safety awareness.

The General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA) has promoted Jens Hennig to v-p of operations. He most recently served as manager of operations.

Roger Wolfe
has been named CEO of DeCrane Aerospace. Former CEO Dick Kaplan has retired but will remain with the company as a consultant. Wolfe previously worked for Landmark Aviation.

Pentastar Aviation has named Rick Maloney president and CEO. He previously served as dean of the College of Aviation at Western Michigan University.

Bedford, Texas-based REB Technologies has named Richard Borkowski president and COO.

Charlie Johnson
is retiring from his position as president of Aviation Technology Group (ATG). The executive committee of ATG’s board of directors will oversee the role of president and CEO in the meantime.

Art Manni
has been appointed COO of Downing Aviation Associates.

Dassault Aircraft Services has named Bob Sundin senior v-p and COO.

Wichita-based Yingling Aviation announced the following promotions: Lonnie Vaughan, senior v-p and COO; Bob Gallop, v-p of repair station operations; and Jerry Picket, v-p of sales and marketing.

Landmark Aviation has announced the following appointments: Mark Linville, v-p and CFO; Jim Hopkins, v-p of FBO operations; and Tom Menks, v-p of aircraft sales, service and charter. The company also appointed Erika Schledewitz general manager of its Wichita Falls, Texas FBO.

Charlie Hughes
has been named president of aircraft management sales for Executive Jet Management (EJM).

AAR Aircraft Services-Oklahoma has appointed Donald Wetekam president.

Skip Madsen
has joined Midcoast Aviation as senior vice president for operations.

Ed Dolanski
has been named senior v-p of operations for Dallas-based Aviall Services.

NetJets has promoted Gary Hart to senior v-p of flight operations.

Andrew Bradley
has been named senior vice president of Avjet.

Parker Aerospace has announced the following promotions: Joan Clark, group vice president of human resources; Craig Honma, group vice president and controller; Frank Thompson, group vice president, supply chain; and Dennis Rice, general manager of the company’s electronic systems division.

Kevin Wu
has been named vice president of government relations and business development for Textron China.

Gulfstream has announced the following appointments: James Guerin, Northeast sales director, new business; and Greg Collett, director, new product development and manufacturing operations.

BJAC Services named Greg Brander director of engineering and Maurice Varin v-p for corporate sales and account management.

Jeffrey Blose
has joined Hawker Beechcraft as director of materials and supplier management within the supply chain management organization.

Shadin Avionics has announced the following appointments: Jim Jamieson, director of engineering; Henry Leung, mechanical design engineer; and Robert Campbell, technical writer.

Carlsbad, Calif.-based Jet Source has promoted Stuart Scott to environmental safety manager.

Mid-Continent Instruments has announced the promotion of Roni Edwards to accounting manager.

Anna Miller,
charter aircraft specialist, has joined Denton, Texas-based Business Air.

Special Services has added four employees to its staff at Greenville Downtown Airport in South Carolina: Doug Goldstrom, comptroller; Adam McMullin, aircraft maintenance technician; and Craig Eichmeyer and Jarod Spencer, full-time pilots.

King Aerospace Commercial announced the following appointments: Jeff Frink, planning supervisor; Monnie Weems, avionics manager; and David Ruiz, cabinet shop supervisor.

Aon, a risk management, insurance brokerage and human capital solutions company, has announced the following staff additions: Peter Schmitz, Robert Beyers and Tracy Toro.

Final Flights

Bill Piper, Jr., son of Piper Aircraft founder William Piper, died August 24, at Geisinger Medical Center in Danville, Pa. He was 96. Piper joined his father’s company in 1934 and became president in 1968. He was named chairman of the board in 1970 and remained in that position until 1973, when the company was sold. In addition to helping organize the General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA), he served as director of the Aircraft Industries Association (AIA) and director of the Utility Aircraft Council of the AIA. His nephew, John Piper, said his uncle lived “a very full life and played a major role in the development of general aviation worldwide.” He is survived by his wife, Elizabeth; three children; four grandchildren; and numerous nieces and nephews.

Paul MacCready, founder of AeroVironment and the designer of the Gossamer Condor, a human-powered aircraft, died August 28. He was 81. His interest in aviation-related inventions began early. When he was 15, he won a national contest by building a model flying machine. He later earned his bachelor’s degree in physics from Yale University, a master’s degree in physics and a PhD in aeronautics from Caltech. He trained as a pilot in the U.S. Navy but began flying gliders after World War II and eventually won the Richard C. du Pont Memorial Trophy, awarded to the U.S. national open class soaring champion. In 1956 he became the first American pilot to be crowned the world gliding champion. In addition to the Gossamer Condor, which he developed in the 1970s, he also developed solar-powered aircraft, including the Gossamer Penguin and the Solar Challenger. In 1985 he constructed a life-size, flying replica of a pterodactyl for the Smithsonian Institution. He has been honored by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and NASA, and was named one of the 100 greatest minds of the 20th century by Time.

Awards & Honors

Oscar-winning actor Cliff Robertson has been awarded the 2007 Wesley L. McDonald Elder Statesman of Aviation Award. The award was recently renamed in honor of the organization’s past chairman, Admiral Wesley McDonald. According to the organization, the award was established in 1954 to honor outstanding Americans who have made contributions of significant value to aeronautics and have reflected credit upon America and themselves. Jimmy Doolittle and Chuck Yeager are among the past recipients.

Munich Airport CEO Dr. Michael Kerkloh has been named “Airport Manager of the Year” by Russian aviation journal The Touristik Report and the Munich daily newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung. The 37-member selection committee was recruited from a pool of airport executives and industry experts. Kerkloh won the same award last year.

The American Helicopter Museum will honor Bell 407 pilot Jennifer Murray this month at Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, Pa. Murray and copilot Colin Bodill completed a pole-to-pole round-trip flight from Fort Worth, Texas, on May 23.