Avionics Update: FAA proposes new TAWS class

Aviation International News » May 2002
May 19, 2008, 6:04 AM

Recognizing that some aircraft operators will want to equip with terrain awareness and warning systems (TAWS) even though they are not required to do so, the FAA is proposing the addition of a third class for TAWS, possibly to be known as class C. Class-A and -B TAWS are required in turbine aircraft with six or more passenger seats, with the higher-level class-A TAWS intended for larger Part 91 airplanes and commercial aircraft. If adopted, class-C equipment would be intended for voluntary installations on aircraft not covered by the TAWS rule. Makers of TAWS equipment asked the FAA to add the third classification to allow them to market TAWS products that need not meet the minimum requirements for class-A or -B TAWS units.

Share this...

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.