Indusry awards honor AIN and BJT

 - July 30, 2008, 9:33 AM has won the Aerospace Journalist of the Year Award (AJOYA) for best airshow coverage. The pioneering online TV coverage from AIN has been webcasting since September 2006 and was honored for its content at the June 2007 Paris Air Show.

The AINtv webcasts are produced by AIN editors, including editor-in-chief Randy Padfield, senior editor David Lombardo and staff editor Curt Epstein, working with experienced TV professionals, under the leadership of AINtv editorial director Charles Alcock. AINtv will be broadcasting from the NBAA Convention in Orlando (October 6 to 8).

Another AIN success in the AJOYA awards was staff editor Jennifer Harrington, who won the award for the best business or financial submission category for her article on business aviation in China, which appeared in the September 2007 edition of AIN. Harrington joined AIN in 2007.

AIN’s show daily editions from Paris (edited by Randy Padfield) and its NBAA Convention News issues from Atlanta in October 2007 (edited by Stephen Pope) were finalists in the best airshow daily category. Other finalists from the AIN group were staff editor Curt Epstein (best airshow submission), France-based correspondent Thierry Dubois (best airshow submission), senior editor Matt Thurber (best business aircraft submission and best systems and technology submission).
Longstanding AIN freelance contributor Brian Walters won the award in the best systems or technology category, and freelancers Ian Goold and Bernie Fitzsimons were also among the finalists for the awards event held in London
on July 13.

The World Leadership Forum organizes the AJOYA awards every year with ceremonies held during the Farnborough and Paris airshows. Sponsors include the Royal Aeronautical Society, Gulfstream, Boeing, Cessna, Rockwell Collins, Bombardier, Embraer, Honeywell, the DVB bank and ITT.

In addition, AIN sister publication Business Jet Traveler has won Gold and Bronze awards in the “Regular Column, Contributed” category of the annual awards competition of the American Society of Business Publication Editors. ASBPE presented the awards to BJT at a banquet in New York City on July 9. The Gold award went to James D. Butler’s Inside Fractionals column, for “Saving Lives, One Flight Hour at a Time” (February/March 2007) and “Truths, Half-Truths and Falsehoods” (August/September 2007). The Bronze award went to Jeff Wieand’s Taxes, Laws and Finance column, for “New FAA Rules Rattle the Charter Industry” (April/ May 2007) and “Your Gray-haired Pilot” (June/July 2007).