FAA Names More Aviation Safety Execs

 - March 30, 2009, 12:27 PM

Continuing a shuffle of executive positions in the agency’s aviation safety organization, which began with the retirement of Nick Sabatini and others, acting FAA Administrator Lynne Osmus officially named Peggy Gilligan associate administrator for aviation safety, succeeding Sabatini.

Sabatini had been associate administrator for aviation safety since June 2001, and before that he served as assistant manager and manager of the Eastern Region’s Flight Standards Division. Gilligan had served as deputy assistant administrator for aviation safety since July 1995.

Previously, she was chief of staff for four FAA Administrators, served in the chief counsel’s office and was an attorney for the FAA’s Eastern Region in New York. Gilligan has been the government co-chair for the Commercial Aviation Safety Team since July 2001 and has played a vital role in working to reduce the commercial accident rate to a historic low. She also provided support to the DOT Rapid Response Team on aircraft safety following 9/11. Recommendations from that group led to rules that hardened cockpit doors, as well as operational changes to enhance aviation security.

John Hickey, director of the FAA’s Aircraft Certification Service, replaces Gilligan as deputy assistant administrator for aviation safety. Succeeding Hickey as aircraft certification director is Dorenda Baker.

The agency is making additional changes. Kalene Yanamura, deputy regional administrator for the FAA’s Northwest Mountain Region, takes over as the deputy director for the Aircraft Certification Service; John Allen moves from deputy director to director of the Flight Standards Service; John McGraw, manager of the flight technologies and procedures division, becomes the new deputy director for flight standards policy; Doug Dalbey, flight standards division manager for the Western Pacific region, becomes deputy director for field operations for the Flight Standards Service; Tina Amereihn has been named director of the Office of Quality, Integration and Executive Services after serving as deputy director; Hooper Harris, manager of accident investigation, is serving temporarily as acting director of the Office of Accident Investigation.

The FAA’s Aviation Safety Organization promotes aviation safety and oversees compliance with federal regulations as applied to airmen, manufacturers, repair and maintenance facilities, aviation schools, operators, aviation agencies, individuals and organizations.