NBAA Second General Session Honors Haiti Flyers

 - October 26, 2010, 12:35 PM

At the first-ever second NBAA membership general session on ­October 20 there were few dry eyes as a video played across multiple screens ­showing the role of business aviation in providing humanitarian relief to ­victims of the January earthquake that hit the impoverished nation of Haiti.

And when NBAA president Ed Bolen announced that the Al Ueltschi Award for Humanitarian Leadership goes to those NBAA members who participated in that relief effort, the audience rose to its feet in recognition. This award, said ­Bolen, “is to pay tribute to all of you who played a part in this humanitarian effort.”

In the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award category, six distinguished ­individuals were inducted: Neil Armstrong, Eugene Cernan, Bob Hoover, Clay Lacy, Arnold Palmer and Russ Meyer. Arnold Palmer was also the recipient of the Meritorious Service Award.