Air Nostrum Named Airline of the Year

Aviation International News » November 2011
Carlos Bertomeu
Carlos Bertomeu
November 1, 2011, 9:00 AM

The ERA assembly in Rome in September proved a high-profile event for Air Nostrum, as the Spanish airline won the ERA Airline of the Year gold award, and Carlos Bertomeu, the airline’s president and CEO, won reelection as vice president of the ERA board. 

Widerøe received the Airline of the Year silver award and SATA Air Açores (of the Azores islands) took bronze. The Airport Achievement Award went to Nantes Atlantique Airport, the Hank McGonagle journalism award to Nicola Clark of the International Herald Tribune.

The ERA board, for the first time, welcomed as new members Malcolm Hart, CEO of the Aurigny Group, and Thanos Pascalis, CEO of Olympic Air.  Manfred Helldoppler of Air Alps won reelection for a second three-year term.

Meanwhile, in the airframe/engine manufacturer category, Marco Balbo, sales director at SuperJet International, won a second term, while Roland Wondolleck, managing director of Rotterdam The Hague Airport, was reelected in the airports category.

Share this...

Please Register

In order to leave comments you will now need to be a registered user. This change in policy is to protect our site from an increased number of spam comments. Additionally, in the near future you will be able to better manage your AIN subscriptions via this registration system. If you already have an account, click here to log in. Otherwise, click here to register.