Dagmar Grossmann

December 17, 2007 - 11:25am

Six months ago, when 10 new states joined the European Union (EU), the lifting of trade and political barriers enlarged the world’s largest borderless marketplace to 450 million people. Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Cyprus and Malta joined the existing 15 member states on May 1. In 2007 Bulgaria and Romania are likely to join the EU, with Croatia and Turkey to follow eventually.

October 20, 2006 - 12:09pm

The Czech Republic and its capital, Prague, are emerging as a key beachhead in the expansion of business aviation into the 10 new states of the European Union (EU). These countries include the neighboring Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Hungary, Slovenia, Cyprus and Malta, and on May 1 they joined the EU, increasing its membership to 25 states.