Hawaii and Florida Quarantine New Arrivals

 - March 24, 2020, 12:33 PM

This story is part of AIN's continuing coverage of the impact of the coronavirus on aviation.

Popular tourist destinations Hawaii and Florida have taken further action to quell the Covid-19 outbreak by issuing mandatory 14-day quarantines for certain new arrivals into these U.S. states. Hawaii has ordered all people entering the state to self-quarantine, while Florida’s quarantine is targeting those who arrive from Covid-19 hotspots.

To take effect on Thursday, Hawaii’s mandate affects all those entering the state, with an exception for aircraft crew members who have a normal temperature upon arrival. Those under the 14-day quarantine order can leave their designated quarantine location only for a medical emergency; violators can be fined up to $5,000, imprisoned for up to one year, or both.

Starting today, Florida is requiring visitors—from areas of “substantial community spread,” including but not limited to the New York City metro area—entering the state through airports to quarantine for 14 days. The order does not apply to those “employed by the airlines and those performing military, emergency, or health response,” but AIN was unable to determine at press time if that also includes air charter crews. Violators face imprisonment of up to 60 days, fines of up to $500, or both.