Intl. Air & Space Hall of Fame To Honor FSI Chief, CAN

 - May 14, 2018, 11:51 AM

FlightSafety International president and CEO Bruce Whitman and the Corporate Angel Network are among the seven individuals and organizations to be enshrined by the International Air and Space Hall of Fame at this year’s induction celebration at the San Diego Air & Space Museum. The Hall of Fame has honored more than 200 air and space legends since 1963.

“We’re especially pleased to honor this exemplary Class of 2018 because these men and women are amongst the most talented figures in air and space history. Aviation and space exploration, as embodied by the honorees in the International Air and Space Hall of Fame, directly represents the human pioneering and exploring spirit,” said Jim Kidrick, president and CEO of the San Diego Air and Space Museum.  

Honorees also include Peggy Whitson, the first female commander of the International Space Station and Ellen Ochoa, the first Hispanic woman to go into space, and Brad Tilden, chairman and CEO of Alaska Air Group. Pilots to be honored include Lloyd “Fig” Newton, the first African American pilot in the United States Air Force Thunderbirds and Richard I. Bong, America’s Ace of Aces and Medal of Honor recipient. The Air Charity Network will also be enshrined.

The celebration will take place on October 3 in the Edwin D. McKellar Pavilion of Flight with more than 600 expected attendees.