NBAA Convention News

David Davenport, Ray Johns to Co-head FlightSafety

 - October 17, 2018, 5:56 AM
Ray Johns (l) and David Davenport were named to jointly succeed FlightSafety International’s late chairman, president, and CEO Bruce Whitman. Photo: Mariano Rosales

FlightSafety International (Booth 2638) promoted David Davenport and Ray Johns to co-CEOs, jointly holding a role held by the late Bruce Whitman. The former business aviation pioneer and well-known philanthropist died on October 10. Whitman, who joined FlightSafety in 1961, had served as chairman, president, and CEO.

Davenport is further serving as president of commercial, while Johns is president of government and manufacturing. Davenport has been with the company since 1996 and previously was executive vice president of commercial. Johns served in the U.S. Air Force for 35 years and joined FlightSafety in 2014. 

“We are honored and humbled to have been named to succeed Bruce Whitman,” said Johns and Davenport in a joint statement. “We are thankful for his outstanding leadership and countless contributions to FlightSafety’s success during his 57 years of service. Together we will continue to embrace and promote the culture of customer service, quality, trust, caring, respect, and family he created at the company, and his commitment to enhance aviation safety around the world.”