NBAA Convention News

NBAA Flying Safety Awards To Honor Cox's 75 Safe Years

 - September 17, 2019, 10:01 AM

NBAA’s Flying Safety Awards program will honor hundreds of individuals and companies next month at NBAA-BACE for their contributions to business aviation safety, including 11 organizations that have amassed either 50, 60, or 75 years of safe operations. NBAA said the awards demonstrate a “high degree of professionalism and outstanding safety culture within participating companies.”

“NBAA is honored to recognize member companies and individuals for their years of safe operations, which for decades has been a key focus for the association and industry,” said NBAA president and CEO Ed Bolen. “These award recipients are proven industry leaders, not only in the safety of flight, but in all aspects of their operations.”

During a luncheon at the NBAA annual convention, Cox Enterprises will receive an award for 75 years of operations. Meanwhile, five companies will be the recipients of the 60-Year Safe Flying Achievement Award: Archer Daniels Midland Company; American Intl. Group; Bissell; H-E-B; and Lockheed Martin.

Five more will be recipients of the 50-Year Safe Flying Achievement Award: Air Products & Chemicals; American Express; Auburn University–Air Transportation; Bayer-Monsanto; and Keller Companies.

NBAA further is recognizing 28 companies with the Company Commercial Award for compiling 1,240,072 hours of safe operations. Another 169 companies are in line for the Company Corporate/Business Award, compiling 8,990,784 hours of safe operations.

The association further is bestowing the Company Maintenance Award to 82 companies compiling 5,077,080 hours of safe operations; ATP or Commercial Pilot Awards to 279 pilots compiling 2,222,738 hours of safe flying; Private Pilot Award to a pilot compiling 5,088 hours of safe flying; Schedulers & Dispatchers Awards to 79 schedulers/licensed dispatchers; Support Services Awards to 158 support personnel; and Technician Awards to 205 technicians.

NBAA launched the Flying Safety Awards program in 1953 to promote a culture of safety in business aviation operations.