NBAA Convention News

NBAA To Honor Seven with Kern Professionalism Awards

 - September 9, 2021, 12:34 PM

NBAA selected seven individuals as the recipients of the 2021 Dr. Tony Kern Professionalism in Aviation Award honoring outstanding professionalism and leadership in support of aviation safety. Among the recipients are NTSB vice chairman Bruce Landsberg and Air Charter Safety Foundation president Bryan Burns. Also joining the slate are Carl Bennett, David Ryan, Jared VanLue, Nick Verdea, and Michael Webb.

“NBAA is pleased to recognize these seven individuals who exemplify the ideals outlined in Dr. Kern’s Integrated Model of Professionalism,” said Mark Larsen, NBAA director of safety, standards, and flight operations. “Their history of outstanding leadership and professionalism has made them real, positive game-changers for business aviation safety.”

The association will present the awards at its National Safety Forum on October 14 during the final day of its Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition in Las Vegas. The peer-nominated honors were created in 2015 to recognize pilots, maintenance technicians, flight attendants, dispatchers, and other aviation professionals who demonstrate excellence in professional ethics, vocational excellence, continuous improvement, professional engagement, professional image, and selflessness.